Board Members
Policies & Procedures
Strategic Plan
about ALASBOnewsresourcesopportunitieseventsmembership

Contact ALASBO
Site Map


1974 Founded by Lowell Thomas Freeman
1975 By-Laws adopted Incorporated in State of Alaska
1976 Established Accounting, Basic Foundation Program Study, By-Laws, Conference Planning, Educational, Legislative and Nominations committees
1977 First Treasurer appointed
ALASBO begins sending president to ASBO Annual Conference
Post-conference Board Meeting established
Exhibitors invited to participate in Annual Conference
1980 ALASBO establishes Executive Director position
Scholarship Committee established
ALASBO begins sending president to ASBO Annual Leadership Conference
1981 ALASBO included in Department of Education Directory
1982 Tom Freeman elected to ASBO Board of Directors
1983 ALASBO holds first Board Meeting via teleconference
ALASBO invited by DOE to review State Finance Study data
1985 Tom Freeman candidate for ASBO Vice President
1989 Mack Easton Memorial Scholarship established
1991 ALASBO invited by DOE to participate in Chart of Account Revision
President Laraine Glenn appointed to Special Presidential Committee on Education
1993 ALASBO joins Alaska Council of School Administrators
1994 ALASBO contracted with DOE to revise Chart of Accounts
1996 ALASBO Newslink initiated
1997 Professional Development Grants initiated
Lowell Thomas 'Tom' Freeman named honorary lifetime member
Richard 'Dick' Swarner named honorary lifetime member
Duane Oliphant named honorary lifetime member
John 'Jake' Rogers named honorary lifetime member
1998 Annual Conference moved from April to December
Exhibitors Committee established
Website established
1999 ALASBO established Board/District liaisons
ALASBO contracted with EED to develop OASIS project
Blood drive initiated at Annual Conference
Exhibitors Professional Development Grant initiated
School Business Official of the Year award program initiated
Summer Institute held
2000 ALASBO worked with EED on Chart of Account Revision
ALASBO contracted with EED for continued development of OASIS
1st Annual Legislative Workshop held in Juneau
John Tongen named honorary lifetime member
Melody Douglas elected to ASBO Board of Directors
Professional Development Grants renamed in honor of Lowell Thomas Freeman
Human Resources Personnel in Alaska invited to join ALASBO
Legislative Committee reinstated
Strategic Plan developed
Reviewed and updated ALASBO permanent records
2001 Strategic Plan Implemented
Tom Bibeau Named Honorary Lifetime Member
Approved Affiliate Document (affiliation with ASBO International)
Melody Douglas chaired ASBO International's Affiliate
Executive Directors Group
ALASBO contracted with EED for continued development of OASIS project
ALASBO Registration Scholarships established
Fund Raising Committee Established
2002 Policy Manual adopted
Committee manual revised
ALASBO work group worked with AIR consultants on School Cost Study survey instrument for Legislative Oversight Committee.
Reinstated formal ALASBO Financial Statements and reporting to membership
ALASBO contracted with EED for continued development of OASIS project
ASBO Professional Standards distributed to membership, superintendents and legislators
2003 ALASBO worked with Department of Health & Social Services Human Resources on drafting regulations for Medicaid payment of IEP service
Dave Jones received ASBO Eagle Award for Service to Community
Melody Douglas elected as Vice President of ASBO
International Resource CD developed for new business managers